Creation of 43 medical training departments within the Faculty of Health Sciences

The creation of the Faculty of Health Sciences was an opportunity for Dean Riou and the Dean's team to take a fresh look at the structures that make it up.

In addition to the creation of study councils dedicated to the teaching of midwifery and paramedicine, it seemed necessary to formalise the various courses that make up the second and third cycles of medical studies. To do this, it very quickly became apparent that the structure of our teaching followed the same logic as that corresponding to the teaching departments of the other two faculties of our university. Only the simulation, general medicine and health Masters departments were already part of the Faculty's organisation. Based on this observation, the Dean asked for a census of all the training activities carried out by our university hospital colleagues in order to draw up an exhaustive map.
As a result, 43 teaching departments were identified as follows:

Translated with (free version)

Teaching department Directrice / Directeur
Pathological anatomy and cytology David Buob
Anatomy Sophie Dupont
English Pascaline Faure
Bacteriology, hospital hygiene Catherine Eckert
Biology, biochemistry and molecular biology,
cell biology
Jean-Marc Lacorte
Biophysics and nuclear medicine Françoise Montravers
Oncology, radiotherapy Romain Cohen
Cardiology, vascular diseases,
thoracic and cardiovascular surgery, vascular surgery
Michel Zeitouni
Maxillofacial surgery, stomatolog Thomas Schouman
Edemato-ascitic decompensation, rheumatology, orthopaedic surgery and traumatology Adeline Cambon
Dermatology and venereology François Chasset
Pain, palliative care, support Françoise Laroche
Endocrinology, diabetes and metabolic diseases, nutrition Fabrizio Andreelli
Public health- Epidemiology, health economics and prevention,
forensic medicine and employment law
Agnès Dechartres
Ethics Martin Dres
Genetic Patrick Benusiglio
Geriatrics, biology of ageing Hélène Vallet
Gynaecology, obstetrics, medical gynaecology Lucie Guilbaud
Haematology, transfusion Florence Nguyen-Khac
Hepato-gastro-enterology, nutrition, gastroenterology, hepatology,
digestive surgery, general surgery
Thibault Voron
Histology, embryology, cytology and
developmental and reproductive biology
Guillaume Bassez
Immunology Michelle Rosenzwaig
Infectious diseases, tropical diseases Laure Surgers
general medicine Gladys Ibanez
Internal medicine, semiology Fleur Cohen
Physical and rehabilitation medicine Élèonore Bayen
Nephrology Yosu Luque
Neurology, neurosurgery,
physical and rehabilitation medicine
Ahmed Idbaih
Ophthalmology Nacim Bouheraoua
Ear, nose and throat Yann Nguyen
Parasitology, mycology Arnaud Fekkar
Paediatrics, paediatric surgery Emmanuel Grimprel
Pharmacology Joe-Elie Salem
Physiology Jean-Philippe Haymann
Pneumology Capucine Morelot
Psychiatry, adult, child psychiatry Florian Ferreri
Radiology, medical imaging Mathilde Wagner
Care relationships Laure Gossec
Public health, biostatistics,
medical informatics and communication technologies
Fabrice Carrat
Simulation, urgences, sémiologie, obstétrique Yonathan Freund
Simulation, emergencies, semiology, obstetrics Guillaume Voiriot
Urology Sarah drouin
Virology Laurence Morand-Joubert


The function of these departments is to carry out thematic teaching activities in medical studies under the direction of university hospital staff, and as such each department will benefit from an operating budget to support teaching and each university hospital staff member in charge will benefit, after a favourable vote by the Board of Directors, from an administrative bonus as provided for in the deliberations of a previous Board of Directors.

In addition to these 42 departments, all Sorbonne University hospital academic staff in charge of DES teaching, as decided by the Île-de-France deans' conference, will benefit from this administrative bonus.

This proposal will be put to a vote by the Faculty Council on 19 March 2024.